Posted by: sibyllemeder | February 15, 2013

The Island Bus photographic Friday 15/02/2013

I’m refining THE ISLAND BUS rough cut, trimming it down from the 3 hours 45 mins director’s indulgence version (I’m exaggerating again slightly) to a more viewable 90 minutes.

If you are in need of chopping a few seconds here and a minute there, it’s advisable to keep all the exiting action and get rid of something less jaw-dropping, like: a sunset. I’m not totally convinced by this rule of thumb which stems from Hollywood storytelling and – while rather well-suited to car chase drama – might need refining if applied to warm-hearted documentary set on a beautiful remote island with a much slower pace. But it’s only a rule of thumb, so we will just go with it for the moment and adjust when needed.

Which is: now. Because here is the thing: what is a sunset? How much of it is exiting action and when does it get boring to you? Hhmm? This is merely a rhetorical question, I will have to feel my way into the appropriate length for the perfect ISLAND BUS sunset alone – and I can promise you, there are a few jaw-dropping nanoseconds involved.

But in defense of all the sunset images possible, I’d like to include a few of my very own personal selection for you to enjoy.

Beige-rose-indigo version with headland

Beige-rose-indigo version with headland

Totally tinted with tiny caique

Totally tinted with tiny caique

This one felt like walking through vaporised colour

This one felt like walking through vaporised colour

I sometimes wonder whether the beach does this on purpose to keep me from working

I sometimes wonder whether the beach does this on purpose to keep me from working

And sometimes it just gets a bit excessive

And sometimes it just gets a bit excessive

So – which ones would you cut? Don’t worry, none of them are from the film. These are just the B-roll sunsets I capture when I stretch my legs after a long day. And now I got them out of my system – good for the edit!

Here is to a good night and a lovely weekend!

(DEUTSCHE VERSION – EBENFALLS ROSAROT)


Responses

  1. Beautiful pictures, the story continues, we hope to add stories during our Pascha visit. Mpravo


Leave a Reply

Categories

